2018 Annual General Meeting

The annual general meeting of members of the Event Atlantic Society was held on Tuesday, March 6, 2018 at the Halifax Convention Centre in Halifax, Nova Scotia at 5:00 pm AST. 

From the World Sledge Hockey Challenge to the Tim Hortons Brier and FIBA World Cup 2019 Americas Qualifier, Atlantic Canada hosted its share of great events and there is more to come. Representatives from each of the four Atlantic Provinces provided an overview of sport tourism and event activity in their region over the past year.

Welcome and Introduction
At 5:03 p.m. Board Chair Wayne Long welcomed all to the annual meeting of the Event Atlantic Society and served as Chair for the meeting. 

Approval of the Agenda
Motion to approve agenda as circulated: Neal Alderson 
Seconded: Paul MacDonald  
Motion Carried 

Approval of the Minutes
Motion to approve the minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting minutes as circulated: Meredith Caissie 
Seconded: Stacey Jones-Oxner 
Motion Carried 

There were 33 voting delegates in attendance and eligible to vote. 

Report of The Chair 
Wayne Long thanked the membership for attending the 4th annual Atlantic Canada Event Summit. He also referenced the inactivity of the Association in 2017 due to pending funding applications but pointed out that the Association has the full support of the Atlantic Mayors Congress. As this was the end of the two-year term as Chair, Wayne thanked the Board and members for their support of this initiative. 

Report of Staff 
There is no staff of the association and therefore no report. 

Financial Report 
Seamus O’Keefe provided the overview of the association’s financial statements. The association had the statements prepared by an outside bookkeeper which showed a deficit of $16,942.50, due in large part to expected funding not being received in fiscal 2017. This is expected in 2018 and will therefore lead to a neutral financial position in 2018. 
Motion to approve the 2017 financial statements as circulated: Jeanette Yetman 
Seconded: Tanya Haywood 
Motion Carried 

Approval of the Acts of the Directors 
Motion to approve the Acts of the Directors for 2016 (6-months): Neal Alderson 
Seconded: Laurel Lea 
Motion Carried 

 By-Law Amendments 

There were no by-law amendments proposed. 

Election of Directors 
The following slate of candidates were nominated for two-year terms (2017-19): 

Jennifer Shebib – Sydney, NS 
Seamus O’Keefe – St. John’s, NL 
Greg Turner – Moncton, NS 
Wayne Long – Charlottetown, PE 
Motion to approve the slate of candidates for two-year terms: Tanya Haywood 
Seconded: Bobby Despres 
Motion Carried 

The Board will subsequently appoint the Officers for the positions of President, Vice President and Treasurer/Corporate Secretary. 

Other Business 
There was no other business. 

Motion to adjourn at 5:15 p.m.: Neal Alderson